Jul 23, 2024  
2021-2022 Graduate Catalog 
2021-2022 Graduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

History and Accreditation

Historical Sketch


Originally founded in 1861 as the Oswego Normal School, the institution became the Oswego State Teachers College and entered into the State University system in 1948. While maintaining its high standards as a center for teacher education, Oswego began to broaden its academic perspective in 1962 when it became one of the colleges of arts and science. Collectively, these institutions became the University Colleges of the State University of New York. Oswego abounds with tradition. Theodore Roosevelt unveiled the statue of Edward Austin Sheldon, the college’s founder. Franklin Delano Roosevelt laid the cornerstone for Park Hall. The Iroquois Confederacy and the lore of James Fenimore Cooper are recalled in names of some other campus landmarks.

Oswego began offering graduate work in 1948 when it introduced the Master’s degree programs in Elementary Education and Industrial Arts Education. Since that time, the College has gradually introduced a limited number of quality programs.
The Division of Graduate Studies is responsible for the administration of five graduate programs in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; three graduate programs in the School of Business; one graduate program in the School of Communication, Media and the Arts; and nineteen degree programs and three certificate of advanced study programs, many with a variety of options and specialization, and six certificate programs in the School of Education. In addition, a variety of graduate courses are offered for students who are not enrolled in degree programs.
The graduate division’s aim is to provide an environment in which qualified students may join a competent faculty in the quest for advanced learning. The graduate program is conducted through academic course work and research which leads students toward professional improvement and scholarly achievement. 



SUNY Oswego is accredited by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. All programs in Liberal Arts and Sciences, Business, Communication Media and the Arts, and Education have been approved and registered by the New York State Education Department.

The School of Education at SUNY Oswego is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE); this accreditation covers initial teacher preparation programs and advanced educator preparation programs.

All School of Business undergraduate and graduate programs are accredited by AACSB International, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The Human Resource Management program is endorsed by the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM).

The Department of Chemistry is accredited by the American Chemical Society (ACS) in both the chemistry and biochemistry tracks.

The Department of Art is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD). The Department of Music is an accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music Curriculum (NASM). The Department of Theatre is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST).

The Department of Technology is accredited by the International Technology Education Association/Council for Technical Teacher Education (ITEA/CTTE).