Jul 18, 2018  
2010-2011 Undergraduate Catalog 
2010-2011 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

School of Communication, Media and the Arts

Fritz Messere, Interim Dean
602 Culkin Hall

The School of Communication, Media and the Arts, the first major change in the organizational structure of SUNY Oswego in the past fifteen years, creates a distinct area of excellence for the campus as Oswego moves forward in the 21st century. The goal of the school is to allow students to study theoretical and practical aspects in a specific discipline while still retaining the benefits of liberal arts education.

With American society clearly in the midst of a communication and technological revolution, the School of Communication, Media and the Arts is an innovation that will ensure Oswego remains an important educational leader within the State University of New York.

The school combines the strengths of programs in art, music and theater with the highly diverse department of communication studies. The school provides students with the opportunity to study both traditional discrete programs in communication, media and the arts, as well as new interdisciplinary programs that develop organically out of the growing trends in media convergence, artistic performance and communication interconnections.

The School of Communication, Media and the Arts is committed to interdisciplinary studies and supports a wide range of interdisciplinary majors including Cinema and Screen Studies, Information Science and Women’s Studies. In addition, the school participates in a wide variety of interdisciplinary minors including Arts Management, Conflict Studies and Management, Expressive Art Therapy, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, and Women’s Studies.

Nationally Recognized Program Majors

Alumni from the various programs have found success at the regional, national and international level, often attaining prominence in their fields.

Programs in theatre, music and art are fully accredited. The Art Department is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, while the Department of Music is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music. The Theatre Department is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theater.

The Communication Studies Department offers degree programs in communication, broadcasting and mass communication, journalism, and public relations. Communication studies and the interdisciplinary journalism program generally follow recommendations of the various national academic organizations regarding their specific content areas.

Academic Departments

  Communication Studies 

Academic Majors

  Art (BA  , BFA Graphics,  BFA Studio  )
  Broadcasting and Mass Communications (BA) 
  Communication (BA) 
  Journalism (BA) 

Music (BA) 

  Public Relations (BA) 
  Theatre (BA) 

Academic Minors

  Art History 
  Arts Management 
  Expressive Arts Therapy 
  Medieval and Renaissance Studies 
  Museum Studies 
  Peace and Conflict Studies 
  Women’s Studies